Alert : Javascript is disabled. To View this Website, Please Enable Your Browser's Javascript...


1. The Orissa Zilla Parishad (Division and Reservation of Constituencies) Rules, 1995

The Orissa Zilla Parishad (Division and Reservation of Constituencies) Rules, 1995


  1. (1) These rules may be called “The Orissa Zilla Parishad (Division and Reservation of Constituencies) Rules, 1995”.
  1. (1) In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires,-

          (2) All other words and expressions used but not defined herein shall, unless the context otherwise requires, have the same meaning as assigned to them in the Act.

  1. (1) Every constituency shall be named after the Block and where there are more than one constituency in a Block, the constituencies shall be named in numerical order beginning with North-West to South-East direction.

          (2) Population shall be computed to the nearest thousand only.

  1. The Collector shall prepare the list of constituencies of the Parishad, as required under Clause(c) of sub-section (3-A) of Section 6, in Form No. 1.
  2. Subject to the direction, if any, issued by the Governor of Orissa under sub-paragraph (1) of paragraph 5 of the Fifth Schedule to the constitution of India, out of the constituencies left in the list for the Candidates, other than Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, reservation of constituencies for the members of Backward Class of citizens shall begin from the constituency which appears first and shall continue one by one until required quota is completed.  
  1. (1) The draft statement as required under clause(e) of sub-section (3-A) of Section 6, showing the division of the Parishad area into constituencies and reservation of seats shall be prepared in Form No. 2 and published together with a notice in Form No. 3 inviting objections and suggestions from all persons interested to be filed within a period of ten days from the date of such publication.